In a released statement, WhatsApp said, “Although the majority of users who have received the new Terms of Service have accepted them, we estimate that some people have not had the opportunity to do so. Due to this update, no accounts will be deleted on May 15th, and no one will lose functionality of WhatsApp. We will pass memories on to people over the next few weeks. ”
Prior to that statement, Facebook’s instant messaging platform had clearly stated in February that accounts will be deleted. “To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and at your convenience, we’ve extended the Effective Date to May 15th. If you have not accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you will not have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept it, “the company said on its website FAQ Page.